

EDMUND G. BROWN JR.
GOVERNOR

KAMALA D. HARRIS ATTORNEY GENERAL

# **POST Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes**

## **Action Summary**

Embassy Suites – San Francisco Airport – Waterfront 150 Anza Boulevard Burlingame, CA 94010 (866) 599-6674

Wednesday, October 24, 2012

#### A. CALL TO ORDER

Vice-Chair Jim Bock called the meeting to order at 1:03 p.m.

#### **B. FLAG SALUTE**

Vice-Chair Bock leads the group in the flag salute.

#### C. MOMENT OF SILENCE

Those present recognized the following officer killed in the line of duty since the last meeting with a moment of silence for Officer Kenyon Youngstrom, California Highway Patrol.

## D. INTRODUCTIONS

Advisory Committee members, POST Commissioners, POST staff, and members of the audience introduced themselves.

#### E. ROLL CALL

#### Members Present:

Elmo Banning – Public Member

Alex Bernard – Public Member

Jim Bock – Specialized Law Enforcement

Ed Bonner – California State Sheriffs' Association (CSSA)

Mario Casas – California Coalition of Law Enforcement Associations (CCLEA)

Joe Flannagan – Peace Officers' Research Association of California (PORAC)

Richard Lindstrom – California Academy Directors' Association (CADA)

Alan McFadon – Public Safety Dispatcher Advisory Council (PSDAC)

Mitchell Mueller – California Highway Patrol (CHP)

Sandra Spagnoli – California Peace Officers' Association (CPOA)

#### Members Absent:

George Beitey – California Community College

Andrew Bidou – California Police Chiefs' Association (CPCA)

Tim Willmore – California Association of Police Training Officers (CAPTO)

Bradley Young – California Association of Administration of Justice Educators (CAAJE)

#### **Commissioners Present:**

Walt Allen Lai Lai Bui Jim McDonnell

#### **POST Staff Present:**

Rich Bond, Bureau Chief, Management Counseling Services Bureau

Marie Bouvia, Executive Assistant, Executive Office

Anne Brewer, Bureau Chief, Training Program Services Bureau

Janice Bullard, Bureau Chief, Learning Technology Resources Bureau

Paul Cappitelli, Executive Director, Executive Office

Ron Crook, Production Manager, Learning Technology Resources Bureau

Alan Deal, Assistant Executive Director, Field Services Division

Frank Decker, Bureau Chief, Basic Training Bureau

Darla Engler, Bureau Chief, Administrative Services Bureau

Tamara Evans, Senior Consultant, Training Program Services Bureau

Bryon Gustafson, Bureau Chief, Standards and Evaluation Services Bureau

Kathy Hobson, Staff Services Manager, Management Counseling Services Bureau

Mike Hong, Associate Information System Analyst, Computer Services Bureau

Mike Hooper, Bureau Chief, Center for Leadership Development Bureau

Dick Reed, Assistant Executive Director, Administrative Services Division

Stephanie Scofield, Training Delivery and Compliance Bureau

Shelley Spilberg, Supervising Personnel Selection Consultant, Standards and Evaluation Services Bureau

Robert Stresak, Assistant Executive Director, Standard and Development Division

#### **Guests Present:**

Daniel Feldheus, CSR, Inc. Nawied Amin, Public Member Cathy McFadon, Public Member

### F. ANNOUNCEMENTS AND CORRESPONDENCE

After roll call, Vice-Chair Bock turned the meeting over to Chair Mario Casas who had accepted the Chair position. Chair Casas first official act was to recognize a guess speaker, Mr. Nawied Amin. Mr. Amin passed out copies of his suggested improvements to POST's

website, programs, and operations (i.e., add beginning and ending term dates of Commissioners to the POST website; create LD workbooks in .pdf format to be viewed and searchable on iPads, PCs, and MACs; create a POST foundation, a POST alumni association, and a POST Web store; create a feedback policy into a database to be complied, sorted, and viewed by location, name, zip code, academy training facility, and name of course; make social media outlets more accessible; etc.).

#### G. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

**MOTION** – Bernard, **SECOND** – Bock, carried unanimously to approve the action summary and minutes of the June 27, 2012, Advisory Committee meeting held at the Courtyard by Marriott – Cal Expo, Sacramento, California.

# H. REVIEW OF COMMISSION MEETING AGENDA AND ADVISORY COMMITTEE COMMENTS

Robert Stresak commented on incoming correspondences to POST from:

- 1. Chief Rick Braziel, President of California Peace Officers Association, regarding ways to mitigate the repercussions of the changes made to their training programs.
- 2. Keith Royal, CSSA President, Sheriff, Nevada County; and Adam Christianson, CSSA, Training Committee Chair, Sheriff, Stanislaus County.

Robert Stresak also commented on outgoing correspondences from POST to:

- 1. Edmund G. Brown, Jr., Governor, regarding SB 1563 (Canella): Civil Service Examinations: Veterans' Preference to be VETO.
- 2. Commissioner Joseph A. Farrow, California Highway Patrol expressing our condolence over the tragic, on-duty death of Officer Kenyon Youngstrom.
- 3. Senator Mike Eng, thanking him for authoring AB 2285 which was signed into law by Governor Jerry Brown on September 20, 2012.

**MOTION** – Bernard, **SECOND** – Bonner, carried unanimously to accept Training Delivery Bureau presentation on the Report on Course Certification Requirements regarding course budgets.

**MOTION** – Lindstrom, **SECOND** – Mueller, carried unanimously to approve Commission Agenda Items C-O and support of the staff recommendations to be forwarded to the Commission.

See attached transcript for review of Commission meeting Agenda and Advisory Committee comments.

#### I. PRESENTATIONS

One presentation was made by Senior Consultant Tamara Evans, Training Program Services Bureau:

• Course Evaluation Instrument (CEI)

This presentation was favorably received.

#### J. ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEMBER REPORTS

See transcript for Advisory Committee Members reports.

#### K. COMMISSIONER COMMENTS

No comments from the Commissioners.

#### L. OLD/NEW BUSINESS

**MOTION** – Flannagan, **SECOND** Spagnoli, carried unanimously to have POST initiate contact with the Women Peace Officers' Association of California (WPOA) and request a nomination to be a representative on the Advisory Committee and/or to come up with an additional recommendation for seeking other law enforcement association.

Bob Stresak introduced POSTs' two newest bureau chiefs, Anne Brewer and Bryon Gustafson to the Advisory Committee Members. Bureau Chief Brewer is assigned to over see Training Program Services Bureau and Bureau Chief Gustafson over sees Standards and Evaluation Services Bureau.

#### POST Annual Awards Nominations Review

Robert Stresak reminded the Advisory Committee members that the deadline for nominations for the POST Excellence and Training and the O.J. "Bud" Hawkins awards is quickly approaching. The nominations period closes Monday, December 3, 2012.

#### M. NEXT MEETINGS

- Review of Nominations for the 2012 POST Excellence in Training Awards and O.J. "Bud" Hawkins Exceptional Services Award Meeting takes place Tuesday, February 26, 2013, at 3:00 p.m., at the Sheraton Garden Grove Anaheim South.
- The Advisory Committee Meeting is Wednesday, February 27, 2013, at 1:00 p.m., at the Sheraton Garden Grove Anaheim South.

• The Commission Meeting is, Thursday, February 28, 2013, at 10:00 a.m., at the Sheraton Garden Grove Anaheim South.

N. ADJOURNMENT – Chair Casas called the meeting to be adjourned at 2:35 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

MARIE BOUVIA Executive Secretary

Attachment